Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Double Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie/Cake/Brownie (Top 8 Free)
Rate Double Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie/Cake/Brownie (Top 8 Free)
Avg. rating 4 from 12 votes.
# of Servings: 8
Recipe Created By: Katie D
1/2 cup margarine, softened, plus more for greasing pan
1/2 cup cane sugar
1/2 cup coconut sugar (or brown sugar)
1/2 cup applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup oat flour (see notes below for how to make)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1 cup chocolate chunks (or chips)
Preheat oven to 350°F.
Grease pan. (I used a 9" circle cake pan.)
In a large bowl, cream margarine, and sugars together. Add in applesauce and vanilla extract. Beat well.
In a small mixing bowl, mix oat flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cocoa powder.
Add flour mixture into wet mixture. Stir until combined.
Finally, add in the oats and chocolate chunks (or chips) and stir until combined.
Spoon batter into greased pan.
Bake for 25-30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean in the center.
Allow to cool for a couple minutes before slicing.
Cut into slices & enjoy!
A delicious chocolatey dessert that is top 8 free. Will satisfy your sweet tooth and tastes like a mix between a cake, cookie, and brownie! Perfect for kids and adults alike. Tastes great warmed and topped with your favorite (allergy-friendly) ice cream!
To make oat flour simply pulse rolled oats in a food processor or blender (I use a Vitamix) until they are ground into a powder-like consistency. Stop and stir and repeat blending until all the oats have been finely ground. The process takes about one minute or less. One cup of rolled oats will yield approximately 1 cup of oat flour.
You can use butter if you do not need to avoid dairy.
If avoiding gluten, be sure to use gluten-free oats.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy
, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top