Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Kathy P's Gluten-Free Raised Doughnuts
Rate Kathy P's Gluten-Free Raised Doughnuts
Avg. rating 3 from 4 votes.
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara
1 1/2 cups gluten-free flour mix
2 Tbsp brown rice flour or oat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/3 cup sugar
1 cup lukewarm water or milk
1 pkg rapid rise yeast
3 Tbsp margarine, melted
2 eggs, room temperature (see below for substitution)
Sift together gluten-free flour mix, brown rice flour, baking powder, xanthan gum, salt, and spices.
Add 1 Tbsp of the sugar to the warm water and stir in yeast. Set aside until bubbly.
Add remaining sugar to dry ingredients and mix. In a large mixing bowl, blend together margarine, eggs, and
yeast mixture using a hand mixer on low speed. Beat in half of flour mixture. Stir in the rest of the flour mixture, then beat until smooth.
Heat at least 1 inch of oil to 375 °F in a wide, deep pan or deep fryer. Place the dough in the doughnut maker and press out 3 or 4 at a time. If the dough is too sticky, add more warm water 1 tbsp at a time until it will come out easily. Turn doughnuts once to brown on both sides. Remove with tongs to drain on paper towels or brown paper.
If eaten warm, shake in a mixture of granulated sugar and a little cinnamon. If storing, remove to cooling rack. May be frosted when cooled.
Copyright © 2001 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
To avoid eggs, use 2 Tbsp flax meal mixed with 1/2 cup warm water.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top