Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Chocolate Chunk Skillet Cookie
Rate Chocolate Chunk Skillet Cookie
Avg. rating 3 from 2 votes.
# of Servings: 6-8
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara
3 oz dairy-free margarine, softened
3/4 cup organic cane sugar
2 Tbsp applesauce
1 Tbsp So Delicious® Dairy Free Unsweetened Coconutmilk Beverage
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup sorghum flour
3/4 cup all-purpose gluten-free flour mix*
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup dairy-free chocolate chunks**
Preheat oven to 350°F
Prepare your pan(s) by lightly oiling. You can use two 5-inch cast iron pans, one 8-inch cast iron pan, or any heavy 8- or 9-inch pan. I set my pan(s) on a parchment lined baking sheet to make it easy to move into and out of the oven.
Measure out dry ingredients into a small bowl. Stir to combine well.
Cream margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.
Add applesauce, coconut milk and vanilla. Mix well.
Add in half of the dry ingredients and mix. Add in the remaining dry ingredients and mix until almost all combined.
Stir in chocolate chunks and mix until everything is combined. Do not over mix.
Spread dough evenly into pan. Be sure to spread it to the edges and smooth the top.
Bake 20 minutes for 5-inch pans. Bake 30-35 minutes for 8- or 9-inch pans. Cookie will be puffed up and golden brown. Remove from oven and allow to cool.
Top with scoops of ice cream and French Vanilla Dairy-Free Caramel Sauce
*I use a "light" gluten-free flour mix such as Kathy P's All-Purpose Rice Flour Mix
Or you can use:
1/4 cup white rice flour
1/4 cup tapioca flour
1/4 cup potato starch or cornstarch
If you do not need to avoid wheat/gluten, replace sorghum flour, all-purpose gluten-free flour mix and xanthan gum with:
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
**Use any chocolate chips or chunks that are safe for you.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy
, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top