Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Eggplant Patties

Rate Eggplant Patties

5 star  Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Main Dishes
Recipe Created By: Ed and Amy


Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


1 large or 2 small eggplant
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 cup crushed Ritz type crackers
1/2 cup corn flour or cornmeal


Peel and slice the eggplant width-wise into 1/4 inch circles. Bring the eggplant and onion to a boil in just enough water to cover them. Boil for 15 minutes or until almost all the eggplant is soft and looks "translucent". Drain and cool eggplant/onion. Mash with a potato masher.

Take the cup of cracker crumbs and mix with the eggplant mixture. Add more if necessary to absorb excess moisture (it should feel sticky but not dripping wet). Form the mixture with your hands into 1 1/2 - 2 inch diameter patties, then dip into cornmeal that has been put on a plate to completely cover the patty.

Fry in pan with enough oil to cover bottom of pan, until brown and crispy on one side, then flip and fry the other (about 3 minutes each side with medium-hot oil).


Good on a bun as a "sandwich" or plain!


Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





Return to top