Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Brownies

Rate Brownies

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor

  Avg. rating 5 from 17 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Desserts
Recipe Created By: Shirley Sippel


Brownies

Ingredients

1/2 cup melted margarine
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs, or equivalent egg replacer
1 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Directions

Mix together margarine, sugar and vanilla. Add eggs or egg replacer mixture. Then add dry ingredients. Stir together and pour into greased 8 or 9 inch square pan. Bake at 350 °F for 20 to 25 minutes.

Allow to cool and frost, or just eat as is.

Notes

When using egg replacer, this is quite solid and has to be spread in the pan, but the taste is great.

Substitutions

Use egg replacer if avoiding eggs.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(2)

I’m sorry but if it is milk free, what is margarine made of

Kathy P - KFA Admin 1/24/2018 2:40:45 PM

Hi Martyna - there are margarines that are free of all milk. Look for ones labeled "vegan" spread. If you need help finding an option that will work with your allergies, I encourage you to post on our online support forums in the Food and Cooking forum - https://community.kidswithfoodallergies.org/forum/food_and_cooking

Return to top