Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Annika's Banana Bread
Rate Annika's Banana Bread
Avg. rating 5 from 19 votes.
Recipe Created By: Amy Hugon
1/3 cup margarine
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup water
1 1/2 cup mashed banana
1/4 cup water
2 Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer mixed with 1/4 cup water
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp xanthan gum
1 2/3 cup gluten-free flour mix
2 tsp cinnamon (optional)
1/2 cup add-ins (see below) (optional)
Cream margarine and sugar. Stir in 1/3 cup water and banana. Mix 1/4 cup water with Egg Replacer to equal 2 eggs and add. Stir in dry ingredients. Stir in add ins if using.
Bake in greased small loaf pans (8 loaves to a muffin tin pan) at 350 °F for 35 minutes. Large loaf pan would be 1 1/4 hour or so. These could also be made as muffins and would bake about 18-20 minutes.
Possible add ins are chopped dates, raisins, or chocolate chips.
Copyright © 2004 Amy Hugon. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
For flour mix, can use equal parts tapioca starch, rice flour, and potato starch. Replacing one cup of gluten-free blend with oat flour is delicious; sorghum would work too as replacement.
Another egg replacer could be used such as using 1/4 cup safe applesauce.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top