Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Easy Banana Bread
Rate Easy Banana Bread
Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara
2 1/2 cups gluten-free flour mix
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup margarine
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 heaping Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer mixed with 1/4 cup water
3 large ripe bananas
1-2 Tbsp water
Sift dry ingredients together.
In mixer bowl, cream margarine and brown sugar. Whisk together egg replacer mixture. Add 1/2 dry ingredients alternating with 1/2 wet ingredients. Blend well after each addition. Add well mashed banana and mix until thoroughtly blended. Add additional 1-2 Tbsp water if batter seems to dry (this will likely depend on size and ripeness of bananas).
Pour into well greased 4x8" loaf pan. Bake at 350 °F for 45min or until tests done. Cool slightly in pan before removing to rack to cool completely.
Copyright © 2001 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
If not avoiding wheat, the gluten-free flour mix can be replaced with all-purpose wheat flour. Omit the xanthan gum.
Another egg replacer concoction can be used, if needed.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top