Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Annika's Upside Down Cake
Rate Annika's Upside Down Cake
Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.
Recipe Created By: Amy Hugon
1/2 cup dairy and soy-free margarine or shortening
2/3 cup brown rice flour
2/3 cup tapioca starch
2/3 cup potato starch or cornstarch
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp xanthan gum
1 1/2 cups sugar
6 Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer powder
6 Tbsp water
1 cup rice milk
4 Tbsp dairy and soy-free margarine
15 oz can sliced peaches or chopped pineapple, drained
1/2 cup brown sugar
Stir together flours, baking powder, xanthan gum,and sugar. Cut shortening/margarine into dry ingredient mixture.
Stir in rice milk and Egg Replacer mixed with the 6 Tbsp water.
Preheat oven to 350 °F. Take 2 8x8" pans. In each, put 2 Tbsp margarine, and set into oven to melt. When melted, put 1/4 cup brown sugar into each pan, and then divide fruit between pans.
Divide batter between pans. Bake 40 minutes.
Serve warm. This does not keep over well, so if you don't want 2 cakes, divide recipe in half or invite the neighbor kids over.
Recipe may be halved.
Copyright © 2005 Amy Hugon. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top