Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Raisin Batter Bread
Rate Raisin Batter Bread
Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara
2 cups warm water
2 pkgs yeast
3 eggs, beaten
1 cup whole wheat flour
6 cups unbleached white bread flour
1 Tbsp grated orange rind (optional)
2/3 cup brown sugar
2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ginger
1/2 cup softened margarine
2 cups raisins
In large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Add eggs, spices, salt, half of brown sugar, and half of flour to yeast mixture. Mix thoroughly. You can use a wooden spoon and lots of elbow grease, or a Kitchen Aid with a dough hook. Add softened margarine and beat for 2-3 minutes. Add remaining dry ingredients and beat until smooth. This will be a sticky batter. Stir in raisins. Cover bowl and let rise until doubled.
Butter/grease two 5x9" loaf pans. Punch down batter and divide evenly between loaf pans. Cover pans and let rise until batter reaches top of pans.
Bake at 375 °F for 40-50 minutes until loaves are golden and sound hollow when tapped. Remove from pans and rub top of loaves with butter or margarine. This keeps the crust softer. Allow to cool on wire racks.
Cooled loaves can be frozen.
Copyright © 2004 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
Regular or rapid rise yeast can be used.
If you do not have a milk allergy, you can use butter.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top