Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Jamie's Cut-Out Cookies
Rate Jamie's Cut-Out Cookies
Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.
Recipe Created By: Jamie Dreyfus
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp water
1 1/2 Tbsp oil
1/3 cup margarine
1/3 cup shortening
3 tsp Corn-Free, Potato-Free Baking Powder, divided use
Preheat oven to 375.
Beat margarine and shortening on high for 30 seconds. Add sugar, 1 1/2 tsp arrowroot baking powder, and a dash of salt. Beat til combined, scraping bowl.
Whisk together 1 1/2 Tbsp oil, 1 1/2 Tbsp water, and remaining 1 1/2 tsp arrowroot baking powder; this works as an egg replacement. Beat in egg replacement mixture and vanilla.
Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Stir in remaining flour with wooden spoon. Divide dough in half. If necessary, cover and chill dough for up to 3 hours or until easy to handle. This is not nomally necessary.
On a lightly floured surface, roll half of the dough at a time to desired thickness. If it is too thin, the cookies will burn; if too thick the cookies with be soggy. Use cookie cutters to cut shapes. Place cookies on ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake for 7 to 8 minutes or until edges are firm and bottoms are very lightly browned. Cool on a rack.
These can be frosted if desired.
This recipe uses homemade Corn-Free, Potato-Free Baking Powder
which uses arrowroot starch and is corn and potato free.
If you use regular baking powder it's a 1:1.5 ratio. So, use 1 tsp instead of 1.5 tsps for a total of 2 tsp in this recipe.
If using commercial baking powder, reduce total amount to 2 tsp.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top