Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Chickpea Fries with Chili Mayo Dip

Rate Chickpea Fries with Chili Mayo Dip

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor

  Avg. rating 2 from 6 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Side Dishes
Recipe Created By: Leah Lizarondo of Brazenkitchen.com


Chickpea Fries with Chili Mayo Dip

Ingredients

2 cups So Delicious® Unsweetened Coconut Milk Beverage
3 cups chickpea flour
1 cup water
2 tsp salt
3 tsp pepper
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 Tbsp curry powder
coconut oil for frying
1/2 cup vegan mayonnaise
2 Tbsp chili sauce
3 cloves garlic, grated
to taste salt and pepper

Directions

Simmer the coconut milk and 1 cup of water in a pot along with the salt, pepper, curry powder, and olive oil.

Slowly add the chickpea flour in a stream, whisking to remove lumps. Be careful not to let it boil. The batter thickens quickly; once it is thicker than pancake batter, remove it from heat. If it becomes too dry, add more of the water and then whisk to incorporate. Spread onto oiled 13x18 sheet pan. Cover with wax paper or plastic wrap.

Chill for at least 3 hours or overnight (recommended).

When firm, cut into desired shapes and fry.

Sprinkle with salt while warm.

Prepare chili mayo by mixing mayonnaise, chili cause, garlic, salt and pepper together. Serve together.

Notes

This recipe is shared courtesy of So Delicious Dairy Free.

Substitutions

If avoiding soy, use a soy free vegan mayo.

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(0)

Return to top