Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Jude's Apple Pie
Rate Jude's Apple Pie
Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.
# of Servings: 1 - 9" double crust pie
Recipe Created By: Meg Falciani
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
2/3 cup lard or other solid fat
4 Tbsp vanilla extract
2 Tbsp iced water
3/4 - 1 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
6-7 cups sliced apples
1 Tbsp butter or margarine, cut into small pieces (optional)
Make the Crust:
Sift flour and salt together. Add the lard to the bowl and place in refrigerator for 20 min.
Remove from fridge. Using fingertips or a pastry cutter, gently work the lard into the flour until the bits of fat are pea sized or smaller. Sprinkle the vanilla extract into the flour/fat mixture, working it gently in until dough begins to come together. (It will still be dry with loose flour.) Add water (not the ice), about half a tablespoon at a time, until the entire mass comes together into a ball. (You may not need the entire amount.) Wrap dough in plastic and chill in refrigerator for 30-60 minutes.
Remove dough from refrigerator. Divide in half, and roll dough to fit your pie pan. Line pan with dough. Roll out other piece for top crust.
Mix sugar, cinnamon and fruit together, and pour into pie pan prepared with half of the crust dough. Dot with butter, if desired.
Place top crust on pie, and create small slits for steam to escape. Crimp edges, and place on baking sheet. (The sheet will catch any overflowing juices.) Bake at 425 °F for 50-60 min.
Any all-purpose wheat flour will work for this crust. I used White Lily brand (often used for southern-style biscuits) because it is made with a "softer" wheat and produces a more tender crust.
You may substitute any safe solid fat (butter, margarine, shortening) for lard if desired.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top