Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Shoyu Chicken

Rate Shoyu Chicken

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor


Recipe Information

Category: Main Dishes
# of Servings: 4
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara


default

Ingredients

8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup water
2 Tbsp mirin (sweet Japanese cooking wine)
2 Tbsp ponzu sauce
1 Tbsp sesame oil
1 Tbsp oyster sauce (optional)
4 cloves garlic, minced or pressesd
4 slices ginger, minced or grated
3 green onions, sliced
1 Tbsp cornstarch dissolved in a little water (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 °F.

Arrange chicken pieces in a baking dish. Mix remaining ingredients except green onion together. Pour over chicken. Cover tightly and bake for 45 min to 1 hour or until chicken tests done.

Chicken can be served as is, sprinkled with green onion. Optionally, the chicken can be removed, the cooking liquid thickened with a cornstarch slurry, and then poured over the chicken.

Notes

Copyright © 2013 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.

Substitutions

Bone in chicken thighs can be used, but the cooking time will be longer. This works best with dark meat chicken

Mirin is sweet, Japanese cooking wine. You can substitute with Chinese rice wine plus 1 tsp sugar.

If avoiding wheat/gluten, be sure to use wheat/gluten free tamari/soy sauce, ponzu, and oyster sauce.

To avoid seafood, omit oyster sauce. My research has found that Lee Kum Kee Panda Brand Green Label oyster sauce is gluten-free.

Ponzu sauce is a slightly sweetened blend of soy sauce and citrus juice. To substitute, use 1 Tbsp soy sauce plus 1 Tbsp lime juice plus 1/2 tsp sugar. My research has found that Wan Ja Shan makes a gluten-free organic ponzu sauce.

If avoiding corn, omit thickening the sauce or use an alternative thickener such as arrowroot or tapioca starch.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(0)

Return to top