Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Super Nate's Great Pizza Crust
Rate Super Nate's Great Pizza Crust
Recipe Created By: StephanieL
1 1/2 cup King Arthur Gluten-Free All Purpose Flour
1 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp xanthan gum (Authentic Foods)
1 tsp salt
1 pkg instant yeast
1/2 cup warm water (105 °F)
1 tsp vinegar to sour
1/2 cup hemp milk
2 Tbsp olive oil
Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, xanthan gum, and salt together well.
In another bowl mix the yeast, warm water and 1/4 cup of the dry mix together. Let stand for 20 minutes. At this time put 1 tsp vinegar into a 1/2 cup measuring cup. Add enough hemp milk to fill and allow to "sour" while yeast is activating.
With an electric mixer, combine yeast mixture, milk mixture and flour mixture for 5 minutes. Allow to rest in a warm place for 30 minutes covered.
Preheat oven to 400 °F.
Spread olive oil onto a parchment lined baking sheet. The dough is VERY wet. You will not think it will ever make a pizza, but it will! Place 3/4 of a cup of dough into a pile and pat down to about 1/4"-1/2" with wet hands. Wet hands are important or the dough will stick to you. Let set for 15 minutes.
Par bake the crust for 15 minutes. Top with your favorite toppings and bake for another 10 minutes.
I found help milk the best to use. Rice milk made the dough more gelatinous. Hemp gave it the best texture.
The dough is VERY wet. Very. But it will make an amazing pizza crust! Trust me!
I have had trouble working with other brands of xanthum gum. I used Authentic Foods brand and have never had trouble.
Use any gluten-free flour mix that is safe for your allergen set, but it could affect the texture of the final product.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top