Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Creamy Tomato Soup

Rate Creamy Tomato Soup

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor


Recipe Information

Category: Soups & Broths
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara


default

Ingredients

6 Tbsp bacon grease, oil, margarine, or butter
1/2 cup minced onion
1/2 cup minced celery
4 Tbsp flour or gluten free flour mix
4 cups tomato or V8 juice
to taste salt and pepper

Directions

Sautee the veggies in 2 Tbsp fat of your choice. If using bacon, I fry up diced bacon till crispy and reserve to add back at the end. Don't brown the veggies. When they are soft, add the rest of the fat and the flour. Stir constantly over med-low heat - you want to get rid of the raw flour taste but not burn it.

Add 1 cup of tomato juice while stirring. This will get rather thick. I do this first bc I find it's easier to prevent lumps this way. Once everything is smooth, slowly add the rest of the juice. Bring to a boil and the soup will be slightly thick and creamy.

Notes

This is a yummy dairy free version of tomato soup. If you want it completely smooth, you can puree it at the end, but I like the little veggie bits.

I like to dice up bacon and fry it crispy to render the fat. Remove and reserve the crispy bacon. Try to not eat it all while making the rest of the soup. Add the bacon bits back in at the end or sprinkle them on top of each bowl.

Substitutions

If you want it a little less tomatoey - you can sub 1 cup of the juice with chicken or veggie stock.

If you like it chunkier, you can use crushed tomatoes instead of juice. I like using half chicken or veggie stock with half crushed tomatoes.

I've done this with an all-purpose gluten free flour mix. I don't care for using all starch or all rice flour, but a mix works well.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(0)

Return to top