Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Gluten Free Sugar Cookie Cut-Outs
Rate Gluten Free Sugar Cookie Cut-Outs
Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.
# of Servings: 12
Recipe Created By: Maren Chiu
1/3 cup margarine
1/3 cup shortening
1 cup rice flour
1 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp unflavored gelatin
3/4 cup sugar
1 Tbsp milk substitute
1 egg or substitute*
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup tapioca starch
1/2 cup potato starch
In a large bowl, beat margarine and shortening together until creamy. Add rice flour, xanthan gum, gelatin, egg (or substitute), sugar, milk, baking powder, vanilla and salt. Beat until combined. Add tapioca starch and potato starch. Beat until combined.
Cover and refrigerate for 3 hours (or overnight).
Divide the dough in half, and roll on a lightly rice-floured surface, to 1/8" thickness. Cut with cookie cutters, and bake on an ungreased cookie sheet at 375 °F for 7-8 minutes or until the edges are firm. For soft cookies, make sure not to over bake. Cool on a wire rack.
These cookies cut out very nicely and can be decorated with frosting when baked and cooled, or sprinkled with colored sugar before baking.
*Egg substitution: Instead of one egg, use 1 1/2 Tbsp oil, 1 1/2 Tbsp water and 1 tsp baking powder mixed together.
Milk can be cow's milk, soy, rice or any milk substitute or water - whatever is safe for your family.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top