Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Ginger Chicken and Amaranth
Rate Ginger Chicken and Amaranth
Category: Main Dishes
Recipe Created By: MommaChristine
1 large pack boneless chicken thighs
1 5 inch piece ginger root
2 Tbsp kosher salt
1/4 cup canola oil
14 cups hot water
1/4 head romaine (optional)
1 tsp sea salt (optional)
1 cup organic amaranth seeds (optional)
Coat the bottom of a large stock pot with canola oil. Place chicken thighs in a single layer in the oil and coat the top of the thighs with kosher salt. Fry the chicken thighs on medium-high heat for 3 to 4 minutes each side. Once all the chicken thighs have been fried in the oil return all the thighs to the stock pot and fill with 12 cups of hot water, bring to a boil. Rinse the ginger root and cut into chunks, add to the boiling chicken. Allow the chicken to cook for 20 minutes or until done.
While the chicken is cooking, boil 2 cups of water in a small saucepan and add 1 cup of amaranth. Cook the amaranth for 18-20 minutes. Once the amaranth is done add sea salt for some added flavor.
Once the chicken is done remove from the broth and cut into strips. Allow the broth to simmer and slice the romaine. Add the romaine to the broth and allow to simmer on top of the broth for no longer than 2 minutes.
Once the romaine has simmered turn the heat off and serve chicken and amaranth with soup on the side or add the broth to a bowl with the chicken and amaranth for a soup.
*Do not be afraid to add too much salt, taste test to make sure the broth is salty enough.
I worked with a favorite dinner of mine to be allergy friendly for my son. This recipe is great for toddlers using utensils (because the amaranth is so tiny), adults with allergies and moms breastfeeding FA kiddos.
Use can use bone in thighs in place of the boneless, but it's much more work.
Use any safe oil in place of the canola oil.
Use rice or quinoa in place of the amaranth. Cook according to package directions.
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top