Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Blueberry Muffins with Streusel
Rate Blueberry Muffins with Streusel
Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.
# of Servings: 8
Recipe Created By: Helen Carey
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup evaporated cane juice
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup canola oil
1 Ener-G Egg Replacer, prepared according to directions
1/3 cup coconut, rice or soy milk
1 cup fresh blueberries
1/2 cup evaporated cane juice
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup margarine
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
Preheat oven to 400 °F (200C) and grease muffin tins or line with liners.
Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup evaporated cane juice, salt and baking powder.
Place canola oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the Ener-G Egg Replacer and enough coconut, rice or soy milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture.
Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top.
To make crumb topping: Mix together 1/2 cup evaporated cane juice, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup margarine, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix with fork, and sprinkle over muffins before baking.
Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes until done.
I used fresh coconut milk for this recipe and the muffins came out great. I am sure that they will be just as good with soy or rice milk.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy
, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top