Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Vegan Toffee with Candied Hemp Hearts

Rate Vegan Toffee with Candied Hemp Hearts

Recipe Information

Category: Candy
# of Servings: 10-12
Recipe Created By: Elizabeth Ihlen

Vegan Toffee with Candied Hemp Hearts dairy-free, egg-free, peanut-fee, tree nut-free, coconut-free,

Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


1 cup dairy and soy-free margarine
1 cup organic cane sugar
1 Tbsp water
1 pinch Himalayan pink salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips
1/2 Tbsp soy-free shortening
1/4 cup organic cane sugar (optional)
1 1/2 tsp water (optional)
2/3 cup hemp hearts (optional)
1/4 tsp Himalayan pink salt (optional)


Line a 10 x 15 inch cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium saucepan combine the margarine, sugar, water and salt.

Over medium heat, stir the mixture constantly until it reaches 300°F. Use a candy thermometer for this.

Once the temperature reaches 300°F, add the vanilla extract and pour onto prepared cookie sheet.

Spread the mixture evenly until the desired thickness has been achieved and let it cool.

Mix the chocolate chips and shortening in a microwave safe bowl and heat until smooth. About 30 seconds.

Pour over the toffee and spread evenly.

Optional Candied Hemp Heart Topping:

In a small saucepan, mix the sugar and water over medium heat until it is a nice golden brown - about 5 minutes.

Add the hemp hearts and stir for another 2-4 minutes.

Pour onto a parchment lined cookie sheet or plate and sprinkle with salt.

Let cool about 10 minutes and then pour over the chocolate covered toffee as it starts to cool.

When everything is cooled, break into pieces to serve.


This is the toffee your Grandma made at Christmas remastered so that everyone in the family can enjoy it safely. It is easy to make and will quickly become a crowd favorite.


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





Return to top