Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Chocolate Mug Cake
Rate Chocolate Mug Cake
# of Servings: 1
Recipe Created By: Heidi Bayer
For Mug Cake Mix:
1/2 cup + 1 tsp Hershey's cocoa
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup white rice flour
1/2 cup corn, potato or tapioca starch
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp xanthan gum
For Chocolate Mug Cake:
7 Tbsp + 1 tsp Mug Cake Mix
3 tsp palm oil shortening (or other fat)
3 Tbsp So Delicious® Dairy Free Original Coconutmilk
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 Tbsp vegan chocolate chips
Make Dry Mix:
Mix together in a medium sized bowl with a large whisk until all the dry powders are mixed and look like cocoa.
Store in a 4 cup container (or larger) until it's time to make your Chocolate Mug Cake.
To Make a Chocolate Mug Cake:
Spray a ramekin or mug with oil.
Place the dry mix into a small bowl, then add the shortening, coconut milk and vanilla. Mix well with a rubber spatula. Fold in the chocolate chips if desired. Pour into prepared mug.
Place in a microwave for 40 seconds to 1:15 minutes depending on the power of your microwave.
This recipe yields about 4 cups of a Mug Cake Mix that can then be made into smaller Chocolate Mug Cake single servings in the microwave.
I began making these cute little gluten-free (and top 8 allergy free!) chocolate mug cakes for our rising sophomore to take to summer Calc B class and it was a hit also with my husband. Now, they request it often. So often, that I devised a larger mix that I can whip up in a jiffy and even send to college.
This is delicious and quite fudgy.
This can also be made with wheat flour by replacing the sorghum, rice flour and starch with 1 1/2 cups of flour.
Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy
, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top