Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Quick and Easy Cinnamon Sugar Donuts
Rate Quick and Easy Cinnamon Sugar Donuts
Avg. rating 4 from 7 votes.
# of Servings: 24
Recipe Created By: Pam Correll
1 cup So Delicious® Dairy Free Original Coconutmilk Beverage
1/4 cup vegetable oil
6 oz firm tofu
3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for kneading
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup granulated sugar (optional)
1 tsp ground cinnamon (optional)
oil for frying
Heat oil in deep fryer, or 3” of oil in a large frying pan.
Combine coconut milk, vegetable oil and tofu in a blender. Blend until completely liquefied.
In a large bowl, stir together flour, brown sugar, baking powder and salt. Add liquid ingredients and stir to combine. Turn dough onto a floured surface and knead to make a soft dough. Press dough with your hands hands until it is 1/2 inch thick. Cut with a donut cutter.
Gently place several donuts at a time into the hot oil. Turn each one after a minute, and cook until lightly browned on both sides. Remove from oil and place on a paper towel lined plate.
For optional cinnamon sugar coating:
In a small bowl, combine granulated sugar and cinnamon. Coat warm donuts with cinnamon/sugar mixture.
Shh! No one will ever know that these cake donuts are dairy-free! Tofu and So Delicious® Dairy Free Original Coconutmilk Beverage give them a great texture. Watch out! They'll be gone before they're cool!
I use firm tofu, but any tofu works well, as it is blended until liquefied.
Feel free to dress your donuts up however you like...plain, powdered sugar, whatever!
I do not recommend baking these donuts...I tried and they were more like biscuits.
Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy
, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top