Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Applesauce Gingerbread Cake
Rate Applesauce Gingerbread Cake
Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.
Recipe Created By: Sarathomps
2 1/4 cup gluten-free flour blend (see below)
1 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp ground ginger
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp allspice
3/4 cup vanilla soy or rice yogurt
1/2 cup apple butter
1/2 cup (real) maple syrup
6 Tbsp margarine
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup applesauce
1 Tbsp egg replacer, mixed with
2 Tbsp water
Preheat oven to 350 °F.
Coat a 12 cup tube pan or bundt cake pan with cooking spray and dust with 1 tablespoon gluten-free flour.
Mix flours with xanthan gum, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices. Stir with a whisk.
In another bowl, combine yogurt, apple butter and maple syrup and stir with a whisk.
Put margarine in a bowl and beat with a mixer at medium speed until smooth. Add sugar and beat until combined. Add applesauce and egg replacer and beat until combined.
Beating at low speed, add flour mixture to sugar mixture alternately with syrup mixture; beginning and ending with flour mixture.
Spoon batter into prepared pan. Bake for 45 minutes or until test done with a toothpick. Cool 10 minutes in pan, then remove and cool completely on wire rack.
This is an extremely moist cake that is tasty enough for company! Freezes well. Stays moist for days.
For the flour blend:
1 cup brown rice or sorghum flour
1/2 cup teff flour
1/2 cup millet flour
2/3 cup tapioca starch
1/3 cup potato starch
This makes 3 cups and you only need 2 1/4. So I blend the flours and then scoop out 3/4 cup.
Apple butter contains no butter. It is a style of jam spread.
If avoiding soy, use a yogurt based on coconut, rice or almond.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top