Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Gluten-Free Thin Mints
Rate Gluten-Free Thin Mints
Avg. rating 5 from 63 votes.
Recipe Created By: Sarathomps
1 1/4 cup gluten-free flour blend (see below)
1/4 cup regular unsweetened cocoa
1/4 cup special dark cocoa
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 Tbsp butter, margarine, or spectrum, softened
3 Tbsp applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp peppermint extract
2 tsp egg replacer
2 Tbsp water
Preheat oven to 350 ° F.
Combine flours, cocoas, xanthan gum and baking soda in a small bowl and stir with a whisk.
Combine brown sugar, butter, applesauce, vanilla extract and peppermint extract in a medium bowl and beat with a mixer at high speed for 2 minutes.
Whisk egg replacer and water together and then add to sugar mixture. Beat. Add flour mixture and beat low until well blended.
Using a small cookie scoop (1 1/2 tsp) scoop out dough onto a cookie sheet, leaving an inch in between.
Bake for 8-10 minutes or until looks dry. Don't over bake. You want them chewy. Let cool on a cookie sheet for a few minutes then remove and cool completely on a wire rack.
Alternatively, to make more of a traditional thin mint style cookie:
Spread dough onto a sheet of plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray. Roll up the sheet until the dough is in 6 inch log shape. Coat hands with cooking spray and coax it if needed. Freeze for about an hour. Take out and immediately cut into thin slices with a sharp knife. Place on cookie sheet and inch apart and bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove and cool on wired racks.
I use a flour blend of:
3/4 cup superfine brown rice flour
1/4 cup potato starch
1/4 cup tapioca starch
You can also just use 1/2 cup of regular cocoa. I just like the dark chocolate flavor.
You may prefer to use less peppermint extract. I think especially if you use all regular cocoa you may need to reduce to 1/4 tsp. I like the combination of dark cocoa and minty flavor.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top