Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Mock Buckeyes

Rate Mock Buckeyes

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor

  Avg. rating 5 from 19 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Candy
Recipe Created By: Cristi Schwamb


Peanut-Free Buckeyes

Ingredients

3 Tbsp softened margarine or softened (or melted) coconut oil
1/2 cup sunflower seed butter such as SunButter®
1 cup sifted powdered sugar
1 cup (approx) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Stir margarine, sunflower seed butter and powdered sugar together. If the mixture is too sticky to handle, you can knead in a little extra powdered sugar, one spoonful at a time, until the consistency is a bit firmer and doesn't make a mess all over your hands.

Divide dough into small balls. Refrigerate (or freeze) for a while so that they aren't so sticky. Put a glass measuring cup full of chocolate chips into microwave for a minute or so -- stirring every 30 seconds. Dip balls into melted chocolate and place on waxed paper. Chill until firm.

For an Easter version of Mock Buckeyes, divide the dough balls into small egg-shapes. After dipping each candy into the chocolate and chilling, wrap in colored foil.

Makes about 30 candies.

Notes

Original "Buckeyes" are peanut butter balls dipped in chocolate. This version can be made safe for peanut allergy, milk allergy and soy allergy.

Substitutions

Commercially available sunflower seed butter may contain soy. If avoiding soy, you can make your own Sunflower Seed Butter using safe sunflower seed kernels.

To make this dairy-free, use dairy-free margarine and chocolate chips.

To make this soy-free, use coconut oil or soy-free margarine, soy-free chocolate chips, and soy-free sunflower butter.

To make this corn-free, use corn-free margarine or coconut oil, and corn-free powdered sugar.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Peanut Substitutions: There are many peanut-free products available in the US. Find out more about peanut substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(1)

Very good for kids with Eosinophilic Esophagitis

Return to top