Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Gluten Free Pie Crust

Rate Gluten Free Pie Crust

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor


Recipe Information

Category: Pies
Recipe Created By: Sarathomps


Gluten Free Pie Crust

Ingredients

1/2 cup garfava bean flour
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup tapioca starch
1/2 cup sweet rice flour
1 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup stick margarine
1/2 cup shortening
1 Tbsp vinegar or lemon juice
4 Tbsp ice water

Directions

Put flours, xanthan gum and salt in a food processor. Cut stick margarine and shortening into small chunks and add. Pulse until you have pea sized balls. Add water and vinegar and pulse until dough turns into a ball.

Take dough out and knead it a few times on a floured surface. Separate into 2 halves and pat each half into flat disks. Wrap with plastic wrap and stick in the refrigerator or 30 minutes or freezer for 10 minutes. Let sit on counter and return to room temperature; 5-10 minutes.

Unwrap and place between two sheets of plastic wrap and roll out into desired size. Take off top sheet of wrap, flip into pie pan, making sure that it touches all corners. When you have it right, take off top layer of wrap. Prick with fork and bake at 450 °F for 10 minutes or until it doesn't look dry. Cool.

Notes

KFA Iron Chef Valentine's Battle 2008: Desserts and Candies

This is the crust recipe for Sweetheart Sunbutter Pie.

Substitutions

If you can't find sweet rice flour in the Asian section of your store, you could use potato starch. If you cannot do bean flours, sub with another "heavy" flour: i.e. brown rice, quinoa, etc.

Spectrum shortening may be used for the shortening.

If you do not have a milk allergy, you can use butter instead of stick margarine.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(0)

Return to top