Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Rate Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor


Recipe Information

Category: Cookies
Recipe Created By: Elizabeth


default

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups wheat-free flour blend
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1 cup margarine
1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
2 egg replacements
2 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips
3 1/2 cups quick cooking oats

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 °F. Grease cookie sheets. Whisk together thoroughly: flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

In separate bowl, beat on medium speed: margarine, brown sugar, sugar, vinegar/baking powder/water, and vanilla.

Stir the flour mixture into the margarine mixture until well-blended and smooth. Stir in chocolate chips and oats.

Drop the dough by heaping tablespoonfuls onto the sheets, spacing about 3 inches apart. With lightly greased hands, lightly press the cookies down to form 1/2-inch-thick rounds.

Bake 6-9 minutes -- until cookies are lightly browned all over and almost firm when lightly pressed in the center of the top.

Notes

Flour Mixture used was a rice flour, tapioca flour, cornstarch, xanthan gum mix.

Egg replacement used was 2 Tbsp vinegar + 2 Tbsp water + 2 tsp baking powder whisked together.

Substitutions


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(0)

Return to top