Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles
Rate Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles
Avg. rating 4 from 88 votes.
# of Servings: 52
Recipe Created By: Karen Farr
1 cup margarine
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups flour (see below for gluten-free option)
1 12 oz pkg semi-sweet chocolate chips
2-3 Tbsp water (optional)
1 6 oz pkg semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 Tbsp bakers paraffin wax (optional)
In a large bowl, beat margarine and sugars until fluffy. Add vanilla and mix well. Mix in flour and salt until well blended. Batter will be stiff. Stir in chocolate chips. Only add water if it's too stiff to mix, and use sparingly. Form dough into 1" balls and refrigerate for at least an hour.
In a double boiler, melt the chocolate chips and paraffin together. Using two spoons, roll the chilled dough balls into the melted chocolate and place in truffle cups. Makes about 52 pieces. Delicious!
If milk is safe for your family, you can use butter in this recipe.
Note from Karen: I have not tried this recipe gluten/wheat free. I would try these with a sorghum and starch blend to make them gluten-free. You'd want to pick a flour that tastes good raw and doesn't have much grit.
For those who can eat wheat (and gluten): This recipe does work with spelt flour, but increase the flour to 2 1/2 cups and no extra water is needed. If you don't have white spelt, sift the whole grain spelt several times to get most of the bran out.
Mariah created a Gluten-Free Flour Blend:
1 c sorghum flour
2/3 c tapioca starch
1/3 c plus 2 Tbsp coconut flour (you could use superfine rice flour or just more sorghum flour instead of any coconut flour)
Omit the water and paraffin from Karen's recipe above, then follow the rest of the recipe.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top