Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Rate Sugar Donuts
Avg. rating 4 from 8 votes.
Recipe Created By: tdelamarter
2 1/2 cups gluten-free flour blend
1 cup sorghum flour
3 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
4 1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer mixed with 6 Tbsp warm water
2/3 cup sugar
3 Tbsp margarine, melted
3/4 cup dairy-free milk alternative
4 - 6 cups canola oil, for frying
1/2 cup sugar
2 Tbsp cinnamon
Mix flours, baking powder, salt, xanthan gum, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
In a separate bowl, whisk or beat egg replacer mixture and sugar until well blended. Mix in butter substitute. Using a spoon, alternate adding flour mixture and milk substitute until well blended.
Roll out the dough on a floured surface with a floured rolling pin to about 1/2 inch thickness. Let dough rest.
While dough is resting, heat oil to 365°F in a deep sauce pan. (I recommend using a frying thermometer, keeping the tip off the bottom of the pot.)
Cut out the donuts using a 3-inch cutter with a 1-inch cutter for the holes. Re-roll scraps until all dough is used.
Using a slotted spoon, slowly lower 2 to 4 donuts into the oil. Fry about 3 minutes. Turn once, and fry 2 to 3 more minutes. Carefully lift donuts out with the spoon and drain on paper towels.
In a separate bowl, combine the 1/2 cup sugar and the 2 Tbsp of cinnamon. Coat both sides of the warm donuts in the sugar mixture.
While it seems like a lot of steps, this is actually a very simple recipe that my kids love to help make. The oil can splatter when transferring the donuts though, so keep kids well away for that part.
I use equal parts rice flour, potato starch, and tapioca starch for my gluten-free flour blend.
I use Mother's margarine for the butter, but oil or spectrum might work well also. I use rice milk for the milk sub.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top