Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Pumpkin Crumble

Rate Pumpkin Crumble

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor

3 star  Avg. rating 3 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Desserts
# of Servings: 8
Recipe Created By: 2girls+twins


Pumpkin Crumble

Ingredients

2 cups pumpkin puree
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup flour
1/2 cup applesauce
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
Crumble Topping:
3 Tbsp margarine
1/2 cup toasted pumpkin seeds
3 Tbsp brown sugar
1 Tbsp flour
1 Tbsp wheat germ

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 °F.

In a medium mixing bowl mix pumpkin, sugar, flour (1 cup), applesauce, baking powder, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Pour into a greased pie pan. Bake for 20 minutes.

While the tart is baking prepare crumble. Melt the margarine and add pumpkin seeds, brown sugar, flour (1 Tbsp), and wheat germ.

After the tart has baked for 20 minutes, sprinkle the crumble onto it. Bake an additional 15 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean. Serve warm.

Note: To toast the pumpkin seeds - clean them, place on baking sheet in 350 °F oven. Bake 10 minutes and then stir. Bake 10 more minutes and stir. You may need an addition 10 minutes depending the on the seed variety.

Notes

Iron Chef KFA Battle Pumpkin October 2006 - Dairy and egg free.

Challenger's statement:

If you like pumpkin pie and are looking for a substitute, this may be it! I can't wait to make this for Thanksgiving dinner this year :)

Substitutions


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(0)

Return to top