Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Mark's Famous Applesauce Bars
Rate Mark's Famous Applesauce Bars
# of Servings: 24
Recipe Created By: Mark Hugon
1 cup Spectrum or other shortening
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
2 Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer powder mixed with 1/4 cup water, OR 2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups gluten-free flour blend
1/2 cup oat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups oats
1 1/2 cups applesauce
1/2 cup sugar
1 Tbsp cornstarch
1 cup oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 Tbsp margarine
Cream together 1 cup of shortening, 3/4 cup brown sugar, and 3/4 cup white sugar.
Stir in Egg Replacer mixture and vanilla.
Stir in remaining dry ingredients down to and including the oats.
Press dough into greased 11"x15" (jelly roll) pan. Bake in preheated 375 degree F oven for 20 minutes.
Meanwhile, in saucepan stir together applesauce, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1 Tbsp cornstarch. Heat on medium, stirring, until it thickens. Spread over cooked crust, covering completely.
Separately, mix together topping ingredients (1 cup oats, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 3 Tbsp margarine), crumbling between fingers. Sprinkle over filling.
Bake bars another 25-30 minutes until browned. Cool completely before cutting.
Copyright © 2005 Mark Hugon. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top