Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Rice Protein Waffles
Rate Rice Protein Waffles
Recipe Created By: Meg Falciani
3 1/2 cups gluten-free flour blend
1/2 cup rice protein powder
3/4 Tbsp xanthan gum
2 Tbsp sugar
8 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup canola oil
3 1/2 cups rice milk
Combine dry ingredients in mixing bowl and set aside.
In separate bowl, crack eggs and whip until light colored and frothy/slightly thick (about 2 minutes on medium speed in a stand mixer). Continue whipping eggs and slowly add oil to form an emulsion. Pour this mix onto dry goods. Add milk to eggs/flour mix and gently whisk until combined. There may be some lumps, that's OK.
Pour into hot waffle iron, and bake per manufacturer's instructions (about 5 minutes or until steaming subsides). Serve immediately or place in a warm (250 °F) oven until ready to eat.
If you have any leftovers, place in zip-top bags and refrigerate or freeze. Reheat in toaster or 350 °F oven until hot (depends on how thick your waffle iron makes waffles). You can also microwave them, but they get a little tough (easily remedied with a little extra syrup on top to soften).
Recipe can be halved as well, to make 4 waffles.
For flour mix, I used 1:1:1 rice/tapioca/potato. Use any safe low-protein (ie, non soy/bean based) mix.
For protein powder, I used rice protein powder with 15g protein per 2 Tbsp portion. You could probably sub soy or whey powder, if safe, provided they had 12-18g protein per 2 Tbsp. You're looking for a total of 15-18 g total protein per cup of flour mix.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top