Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
All-Oat Oatmeal Cookies
Rate All-Oat Oatmeal Cookies
Avg. rating 5 from 7 votes.
Recipe Created By: T.
3 cups oats (quick or old-fashioned)
1 cup oat flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp xanthan gum
3/4 cup oil or lard
1 1/2 cups turbinado sugar
1 egg or replacer (see below)
1/4 cup water
Preheat oven to 350 °F.
Grease cookie sheet.
Combine the oats, flour, salt, sugar and baking powder.
In a separate bowl, beat together the shortening/oil, egg or alternative replacement, and water. Combine all ingredients.
Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto cookie sheets and bake 12 to 15 minutes.
I also make these with 2 cups oats, 1 cup brown rice flour and 1 c oat flour, which makes the cookie slightly more cakey.
If you don't have xanthan gum, you can skip it but the cookies will be crumbly.
If you don't have rice flour you can use all oat flour. Sometimes I use a mix of raw sugar and white sugar. You can add spices like cinnamon if those are ok.
Your sugar, flour and oats are the base and from there you can experiment with different combinations and textures.
Less oats and more flour will make more of a cake like mix, more oats makes for a crunchier mix. I have made these as cookies, a bar cookie and in muffin tins as "cupcakes".
Turbinado sugar can be replaced with 1 cup white sugar + 1/2 cup brown sugar.
Egg can be replaced with 1/2 banana, or 1/2 cup applesauce, or 1/2 cup canned pumpkin. T prefers using applesauce as the egg replacer. Bananas make a sweeter cookie with a distinct banana taste.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top