Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Gluten-Free French Bread
Rate Gluten-Free French Bread
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara
3 1/2 cups French Bread Mix
6 Tbsp dry milk powder or dairy-free substitute
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 pkg dry yeast (regular or rapid rise)
1/2 tsp calcium ascorbate (optional)
2 heaping Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer mixed with 6 Tbsp water
1 tsp cider vinegar
3 Tbsp olive oil
1 1/3 cups warm water
Prepare pans: If using perforated French Bread pans, fit them with a piece of oiled parchment paper. If using non-perforated pan or baking sheet, lightly oil pan.
In high powered mixer fitted with paddle attachment, combine dry ingredients including yeast, but not Egg Replacer. Stir to combine.
In small bowl, whisk together Egg Replacer and water. Add oil and vinegar and whisk until foamy.
Add mixture to dry ingredients. Add about 1/2 of warm water to dry ingredients. Starting with mixer on low and working up to medium-high speed, beat for 3 minutes.
Stop after about 30 seconds to scrape down bowl and beater and determine if more water is needed. Dough should be stiff and slightly sticky, but not forming a ball on the beater paddle.
Divide dough using oiled hands and spread into French bread pans or form two loaves on baking sheet. Smooth out tops and lightly brush or spray with olive oil. This can be flavored oil if desired. Add any crushed herbs or seasoning as desired.
Cover and allow to rise about 45 minutes for rapid rise or 1 1/2 hours for regular yeast.
Bake in preheated 425 °F oven for 25 - 30 minutes or until bread is nicely browned and sounds hollow when thumped.
Remove from pan and cool completely on a rack.
This recipes uses Gluten-Free French Bread Mix
Copyright © 2006 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top