Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Spelt Pizza Crust

Rate Spelt Pizza Crust

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor


Recipe Information

Category: Breads
Recipe Created By: CurlyTop


default

Ingredients

1 Tbsp yeast
2/3 cup spelt flour, brown rice, or garbanzo bean flour
1/2 cup tapioca flour
2 Tbsp dry milk powder
2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp unflavored gelatin powder
1 tsp Italian herb seasoning (optional)
2/3 cup warm water
1/2 tsp sugar
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
cooking spray
1 Tbsp coarse ground cornmeal (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 °F.

In medium mixer bowl, blend the yeast, flours, dry milk powder (or sweet rice flour), xanthan gum, salt, gelatin powder, and Italian herb seasoning on low speed. Combine warm water, sugar (or honey), olive oil, and vinegar and add to dry mixture. Beat on high speed for 3 minutes. (Add water, if necessary, one tablespoon at a time, until dough does not resist beaters.) The dough will resemble soft bread dough. Let rise covered for 15 minutes.

Pat dough into desired shape on floured surface. Sprinkle with coarse ground cornmeal if desired. Transfer shaped dough to pizza stone or cooking tray sprayed with cooking oil.

Bake the pizza crust for 10 minutes. Remove from oven. Spread pizza crust with sauce and toppings. Bake for another 20-25 minutes or until top is nicely browned.

Notes

Use this dough for either thin or thick crust pizzas.

Substitutions

To avoid wheat and gluten, use rice or garbanzo bean flour suggestions.

Dry milk powder can be replaced with sweet rice flour to make dairy free.

Sugar can be replaced with 1/4 tsp honey.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(0)

Return to top