Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Pina Colada Pie

Rate Pina Colada Pie


Recipe Information

Category: Pies
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara


default

Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.

Ingredients

2 pkgs unflavored gelatin
2 cups pineapple juice
2/3 cups sugar
1 15 oz can coconut milk
1 9 inch graham cracker pie crust

Directions

Make Graham Cracker Crust and set aside to cool. This recipe works with regular or gluten free graham crackers.

Soften gelatin in 1/2 cup pineapple juice. Heat remaining juice to boiling and pour over softened gelatin. Stir until all is dissolved. Add sugar and stir until dissolved. Add coconut milk and stir to blend well. Refrigerate several hours until almost set. This may separate into layers - that's okay. Using hand mixer, beat at high speed until smooth and fluffy. Pour into prepared graham cracker crust. Sprinkle with reserved crumbs. Refrigerate until set.

Notes

This filling can be used as a pudding/mousse type dessert also. Just make to the point of whipping, put in individual dessert cups and refrigerate until set. Also looks nice as "layers" in glass parfait glasses. Fill parfait cups with mixture and allow to set. Do not whip.

Copyright © 2002 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.

Substitutions

This has not been tried with vegan/Kosher gelatin.

Can use homemade coconut milk to replace canned.

Do not use fresh pineapple juice as it contains an enzyme which inhibits gelatin from setting.

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:

Return to top

Comments

*

*

Comments(0)

Return to top