Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Chicken Fajitas

Rate Chicken Fajitas

3 star  Avg. rating 3 from 8 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Main Dishes
Recipe Created By: Lorraine


Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


chicken breasts
canola oil
minced garlic
lime juice
salt and pepper
chili pepper & cumin (optional)
grape tomatoes (optional)
sour cream (optional)
cheddar cheese (optional)
avocado (optional)
bell peppers
tortillas (flour and/or corn)


Marinate chicken breasts in canola oil, lime juice, minced garlic, salt and pepper for 30 minutes to an hour. You can spice up marinade with cumin and chili powder if desired.

Meanwhile, prepare toppings. Into separate bowls, place slice grape tomatoes, sour cream, chedder cheese and avocado slices.

Heat some oil in a skillet. Saute sliced onion. When soft, add some sliced bell peppers. Remove when veggies are tender-crisp. Do not clean skillet. Add a bit more oil if necessary. Remove chicken from marinade (discard marinade) and add to skillet. Cook until done, about 3 minutes per side. Slice and serve with veggies and toppings, along with warm tortillas.


This is good with Mexican rice on the side. This is just white rice with drained can of diced tomatoes and chilis stirred in.


Use whatever kind of dairy or non-dairy sour cream is safe for you. If using vegan cheddar cheese, dice into tiny cubes.

Omit sour cream and/or cheese if you don't have a safe version. If avoiding wheat/gluten, use safe corn tortillas. If avoiding corn, use safe wheat tortillas.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





Return to top