Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Apple Pie Muffins
Rate Apple Pie Muffins
Avg. rating 4 from 27 votes.
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 cups flour*
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon or apple pie spice
1/4 cup margarine, melted
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup milk or milk alternative
1 small tart apple, peeled, cored and chopped
Preheat oven to 350 °F. Prep a 12 cup muffin pan.
In a small bowl, mix together dry ingredients - sugars, flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon.
In a larger bowl, mix together wet ingredients - melted margarine, applesauce, vanilla, and milk alternative.
Add the dry stuff to the wet stuff. Stir to combine, but do not overmix. When almost mixed, add apple pieces.
Divide evenly among 12 muffin cups lined with papers. Bake 18 min or until they test done.
These can also be made in a doughnut pan and sprinkled with a crumb topping. Bake 15 min for mini doughnuts (12 per pan - you will have more batter to make a few regular muffins also).
For mini muffins, the baking time is 12-13 minutes.
If you do not have a safe margarine, liquid vegetable oil can be used as a substitute.
If not avoiding wheat, use all-purpose flour.
For wheat/gluten free, use gluten free flour mix. I like:
3/4 cup sorghum flour
1 1/4 cup Kathy P's Kathy P's All-Purpose Rice Flour Mix
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top