Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Gluten-Free Pretzel Sticks
Rate Gluten-Free Pretzel Sticks
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara
1 3/4 cups French Bread Mix
1 pkg yeast
1 Tbsp dry milk powder or dairy-free substitute
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp calcium ascorbate (optional)
1 heaping Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer, mixed with 3 Tbsp water
1/2 tsp vinegar
1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
2/3 cup warm water
olive oil spray
Preheat oven to 425F.
In high powered mixer fitted with paddle attachment, combine dry ingredients including yeast, but not egg replacer. Stir to combine.
In small bowl, whisk together egg replacer and water. Add oil and vinegar and whisk until foamy.
Add mixture to dry ingredients. Add about 1/2 of warm water to dry ingredients. Starting with mixer on low and working to medium-high speed, beat for 3 minutes. Stop after about 30 seconds to scrape down bowl and beater and determine if more water is needed. Dough should be soft and slightly sticky, and not forming a ball on the beater paddle.
Spoon dough into a piping bag fitted with a #7 plain writing tip for thin pretzel sticks or a #10 for thicker ones. This can be done using a ziplock bag with the corner cut off. Pipe rows of 3" sticks on parchment lined baking sheets. They can be pretty close together as this does not spread much.
Spray with olive oil and sprinkle with Kosher salt.
Bake 10 to 15 minutes or until golden brown and crisp. Check at 10 minutes and if not browning evenly, stir with a spatula making sure to keep a single layer.
Let cool slightly on pan, then remove to flour sack type cotton or linen dish towel and cool completely. Store in airtight container.
If you find that some pretzels are not completely crisp when cooled, return to 200F oven for 10 minutes to recrisp.
This recipes uses Gluten-Free French Bread Mix
Copyright © 2006 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top