Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Whipped Cream Frosting

Rate Whipped Cream Frosting

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor

  Avg. rating 5 from 6 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Frostings
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara


Whipped Cream Frosting

Ingredients

4 Tbsp flour (see below for gluten free option)
1 cup milk or milk substitute
1/2 cup stick margarine
1/2 cup shortening
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp vanilla
pinch salt

Directions

Mix flour and milk in saucepan, making sure it has a very smooth consistency.

Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until thickened. Put in bowl and cool completely.

Cream margarine and shortening about 4 minutes using the wire whip attachment if using a stand mixer. Add sugar gradually and beat another 4 minutes. Add flour paste and beat another 4 minutes. Add vanilla and salt and blend.

Makes enough to fill and frost a 9" layer cake, one large cake, or one batch of cupcakes.

Keep refrigerated until ready to serve if the weather is warm. Bring to room temperature to serve.

Notes

Copyright © 2000 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.

Substitutions

To avoid soy, select soy-free margarine (or use butter - a milk ingredient if you do not have milk allergy), shortening, and milk alternative. This can be made using all shortening (there are palm oil shortenings available) if you don't have a safe margarine. If using margarine, be sure to use a stick margarine as tub margarines have too much water content and are whipped to contain more air.

To avoid milk, select milk-free margarine, shortening, or milk alternative. This will work using soy or rice milk.

To make wheat/gluten free, use white rice flour or a gluten free flour blend.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Comments(0)

Name*

Email*

Comment

Return to top