Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Chocolate Dainties

Rate Chocolate Dainties

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor

  Avg. rating 5 from 4 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Candy
Recipe Created By: Lundbrady


Chocolate Dainties

Ingredients

1/2 cup shortening
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1/2 cup plain rice milk
1 tsp vanilla
3 cups plain or cocoa-flavored crispy rice cereal
1 cup coconut

Directions

Chop up 1 cup of the crispy rice cereal a bit.

Combine shortening, sugar, cocoa, and rice milk. Cook over medium heat and bring to a boil, stirring. Keep at boil exactly 1 minute, stirring. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla, rice cereal, and coconut. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto waxed paper.

Notes

They are ready to eat as soon as they cool, but they are better refrigerated. They freeze well, too.

Substitutions


Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Comments(2)

Name*

Email*

Comment

Coconut is on the list of ingredients and it is a tree-nut as per FDA. Would you please update the allergy list accordingly?

Kathy P - KFA Admin 2/19/2018 1:50:50 PM

Hi Lavanya - you are correct that the FDA considers coconut a tree nut. Allergists do not consider it a tree nut although you can be allergic to coconut as well as tree nuts. We have a note in the substitutions area about coconut:

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.

Return to top