Safe Eats ® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Homemade Ravioli with Cheese
Rate Homemade Ravioli with Cheese
Recipe Created By: Danielle
1 cup flour
4 tsp salt
1/4 cup butter
1 cup water
1 cup ricotta cheese
1 Tbsp Pecorino Romano cheese
1 Tbsp fresh or dried parsley
Place your flour and salt in a large mixing bowl and rub in the butter with your fingertips until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. Add enough water to make a stiff dough and knead it until it is smooth.
Divide the mixture in half and roll each piece out into very thin sheets, turning and sprinkling with extra flour frequently to prevent sticking and tearing until so thin as to be almost transparent. A good pasta machine may also be used to roll out the dough. Cover with a damp cloth until you are ready to use it, this prevents drying of the dough.
Mix ricotta and Romano cheeses until well blended. You may also add browned ground sirloin (use the leanest cut for ravioli's) to this mixture (drained) if you want cheese/meat combo or you can just use meat with parsley/salt as a filling too.
To assemble -- place teaspoons of the filling(your choice - meat, meat/cheese, just cheese) over one sheet, about 1 1/2 inches apart. Cover loosely with the second sheet and press down firmly around each mound then cut into squares with a pastry wheel or very sharp knife. I then take a damp not wet (to prevent sticking) fork and press all around the cut mound, to seal in the filling (this avoids leaking when boiling later).
Place on a floured board and leave to dry out for about 30 minutes.
Slide into boiling water and cook for about 6 minutes or when floating at the top of the water. A safe spaghetti sauce may be used to pour over if you like. Enjoy!
You can use Parmesan cheese in place of the Pecorino Romano.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top