Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Flapjacks - English Granola Type Bars

Rate Flapjacks - English Granola Type Bars

5 star  Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Snacks
Recipe Created By: Alex Jeffery


Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


4 oz margarine
2 to 4 oz sugar
2 Tbsp golden syrup (inverted sugar syrup)
8 oz rolled oats


Melt together the margarine, sugar and syrup, not allowing it to boil. (It doesn't matter if the sugar dissolves.) Remove from the heat and stir in the oats. Press lightly into a well-greased 7" by 11" tin. If in doubt, line the tin with greased foil. Bake at 350 °F for 20 minutes until golden.

Mark into bars while hot, then leave in the tin until completely cold. Remove and break into bars. The whole thing should just fall out in a slab. If you try to take it out before it's cold, it will fall apart. Also, if you forget to mark them they will be impossible to cut into bars.


This is a traditional oat-based recipe in England. Flapjacks are a very simple, kid-friendly granola bar. It's basically oats glued together with toffee-ish stuff - it's a very easy tweakable recipe which can be chewy or crisp, tooth-achingly sweet or relatively plain.

The more syrup to sugar, the more chewy the end result.

If you press the mixture down, it is chewier, if you don't it comes out crunchier.

If you use jumbo oats (as they're called in England), you'll need to press it down or it will be too crumbly.

I bake it an extra 5 mins or so until it is browner and crunchy.

If you don't have a 7" by 11" tin (I don't) - as a rough guide they should be about 1/2" to 3/4" thick.


Golden Syrup is a thick sugar syrup much like corn syrup but made from cane sugar.

If you do not have a milk allergy, butter may be used.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





Return to top