Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Coconut & Caramel Popcorn

Rate Coconut & Caramel Popcorn

5 star  Avg. rating 5 from 375 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Snacks
# of Servings: 4
Recipe Created By: So Delicious Dairy Free

Coconut & Carmel Popcorn

Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


1/3 cup So Delicious® French Vanilla Coconut Milk Creamer
1/2 cup unpopped kernels (~10 cups popcorn)
1/2 cup vegan butter (Earth Balance® Soy Free Spread)
3 Tbsp agave nectar, amber
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 Tbsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup dried coconut flakes, unsweetened, toasted
1 tsp vanilla


Pop favorite popcorn from yellow corn kernels over stove top or use favorite microwave popcorn brand. Spread on baking sheet and set aside.

In a saucepan, melt vegan spread and stir in the agave, brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt until dissolved.

Take the pan off the heat and slowly whisk in the creamer until well combined. Return to heat, and continue to whisk for 10 minutes or until sauce reaches an amber color and thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon.

Stir in coconut flakes and vanilla. Let cool slightly before drizzling over popcorn.

Drizzle mixture over popcorn and blend in with a spatula. Serve immediately.


Substitute French vanilla or hazelnut creamer for a fun, nuttier flavor.

For a crunchier version, spread evenly onto 1 or 2 cookie sheets and bake at 250 degrees for 45-60 minutes.

You can also add sea salt after it cools for a salted caramel flavor!

This recipe is shared courtesy of So Delicious Dairy Free.


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





krista karo 7/2/2015 12:24:10 PM

how is this recipe tree nut free as stated??

Kathy P - KFA Admin 7/3/2015 11:22:20 AM

Are you concerned about the coconut? The FDA classifies it as a"nut" but allergists generally don't. You can read info on this if you follow the link k in the substitution notes above.

Return to top