Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Passover Thumbprint Cookies

Rate Passover Thumbprint Cookies

5 star  Avg. rating 5 from 4 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Cookies
Recipe Created By: Lynn K

Passover Thumbprint Cookies

Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


1/2 cup powdered (confectioners) sugar
1 cup margarine (2 sticks)
2 1/4 tsp vanilla
zest from 1 lemon
1/2 cup matzah cake meal
1 1/2 cup potato starch
1/4 tsp salt
fruit preserves such as strawberry, raspberry, apricot


Preheat oven to 350 °F.

Use an electric mixer to beat together the powdered sugar and margarine; add vanilla and lemon zest.

In a small bowl, combine the matzah cake meal, potato starch, and salt.

Add dry ingredients to wet , and mix until the dough forms a ball. The dough will be very soft, but holds up well to being handled.

Roll tablespoons of dough into balls and place on cookie sheets lined with either parchment or a silicone baking sheet.

Use your finger or thumb to gently make an indentation in the middle of each ball. The cookie may crack a little around the edges.

Fill each indentation with about 1/4 teaspoon of your favorite fruit preserves.

Bake about 14 minutes or until barely golden.

Cool on the cookie sheet for a couple minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

The cookies are a little crumbly, so handle with care!


This recipe is suitable for Passover. Check that the ingredients are okay according to your level of observance.

This recipe is adapted from Food Allery Momma's dairy, egg, and nut free thumbprint cookies.


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





Return to top