Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Soft Sugar Cookies

Rate Soft Sugar Cookies

4 star  Avg. rating 4 from 19 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Cookies
Recipe Created By: Laurie Carson

Soft Sugar Cookies

Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


1 cup margarine
2 cups sugar
1 Tbsp vanilla
2 eggs, beaten, or equivalent replacement
5 cups flour (divided)
1 cup buttermilk or dairy-free milk alternative, soured with 1 tsp vinegar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt


Mix together margarine, sugar and vanilla. Add beaten eggs. Alternately add the buttermilk, 2 1/2 cups flour, baking soda and baking powder. Stir in additional 2 1/2 cups flour.

Chill well.

Roll out on a floured surface and cut out. Sprinkle tops with sugar (or colored sugar, sprinkles, etc).

Bake at 350 °F for 8-10 min depending on size.



Ener-G egg replacer works in place of beaten eggs to make egg-free but is not corn-free.

For buttermilk, can use 1 tsp vinegar to 1 cup milk substitute. Either rice or soy will work, but soy is a bit richer tasting.

If you do not have a milk allergy, you can use butter instead of milk-free margarine.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





What includes wheat and gluten in this recipe? Is it the flour? If yes, then can I use oat flour?

Kathy P - KFA Admin 12/18/2016 12:05:37 PM

Yes, the flour would be wheat/gluten. When substituting flour, it's best to use a combination of a heavier flour (like rice, oat, etc) and lighter starches (cornstarch, potato starch, tapioca starch). This oat flour based Hamentaschen recipe might work for you - You can roll it out and cut into shapes instead of filling with jam.

Return to top