Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

French Toast Muffins

Rate French Toast Muffins

Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor

4 star  Avg. rating 4 from 5 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Muffins
# of Servings: 24
Recipe Created By: Meg Falciani


default

Ingredients

2 cups sorghum flour
2 cups gluten-free mix (see below)
4 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
2 Tbsp lemon juice
2/3 cup oil
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups coconut milk or other milk alternative *
1 cup dark brown sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 °F. Grease 2 muffin pans (24 muffins total).

Mix flours, baking powder/soda, and cinnamon in a bowl. In a separate bowl, combine remaining ingredients. Add wet to dry, and stir gently.

Spoon into muffin pans, and bake for 18-22 minutes. Allow to cool for about 5 minutes so structure can set, then gently remove from pan and allow to cool thoroughly. These are good both still warm and at room temperature.

Notes


Substitutions

For gluten-free flour mix, I used 1/2 cup each rice flour, rice protein powder, tapioca starch, and potato starch. If you are not using protein powder, add 4 tsp. xanthan gum to help hold these together.

If not avoiding wheat, use 4 cups of all-purpose wheat flour.

* Any alternative milk can be used; coconut helps give it a richer taste/texture. This is the refrigerated coconut based milk alternative, not canned coconut milk. The original recipe this is based on calls for unflavored or vanilla soy milk.

You can also add fruit to these muffins. Add 1 to 1 1/2 cups fruit of choice. Dice into approx 1/4 inch chunks if using any fruit larger than a blueberry. If using canned fruit, drain thoroughly.

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.


 This recipe is free of:
 Milk  Peanut  Egg  Soy  Tree nut
 Gluten  Wheat  Fish  Shellfish  Sesame

Return to top

Comments

Name*

Email*

Comment

Comments(2)

These turned out pretty dry, I don't know what would have made that happen but I will have to scrap the whole batch.

Not sure why they came out dry. Did you make any substitutions?

Return to top