Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Harvest Oat Cookies

Rate Harvest Oat Cookies

5 star  Avg. rating 5 from 5 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Cookies
Recipe Created By: Cristi Schwamb

Harvest Oat Cookies

Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


1/2 cup margarine
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp allspice
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups oats


Preheat oven to 375 °F.

With an electric mixer, cream together margarine and sugars. Mix in pumpkin. Add baking powder, baking soda, spices, and 1 cup flour. Mix well. Add in remaining 3/4 cup flour and mix well. Stir in oats.

Form rounded teaspoons of the dough into balls. Flatten slightly and place on cookie sheet. (You can also just drop teaspoonfuls of dough onto the cookie sheet but they turn out a bit ugly.)

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges brown slightly. Let set for about a minute on the cookie sheet and then remove to cool on a wire rack.


Iron Chef KFA Battle Pumpkin October 2006 - Dairy and egg free.

Challenger's statement:

I created this recipe because I didn't want to be left out of all the Iron Chef fun. I wanted an oatmeal cookie to help with my milk supply for my littlest one and wanted a little something "festive" for a change. I like baking cookies because they mix together quickly and are quite forgiving in terms of changing ingredients. I often keep the left-over dough in the refrigerator for a few days so that my kids can have them freshly baked as a warm treat. These cookies would go well with hot apple cider after a cool afternoon outside.


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





Return to top