Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Mock Cheese Crackers

Rate Mock Cheese Crackers

5 star  Avg. rating 5 from 5 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Snacks
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara


Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


1/2 cup red lentils
2 cups water
3 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
2 Tbsp cider vinegar
1 Tbsp tahini (or other nut or seed butter)
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp dry mustard
1/4 tsp turmeric
dash hot sauce
6 Tbsp gluten-free flour blend


Combine washed lentils with water and soak overnight. Drain, reserving soaking liquid.

In large non-stick fry pan, heat oil and fry lentils until dry and crispy. Stir frequently.

Transfer to blender jar (this did not work in a food processor). Add remaining ingredients (except flour) along with 4 Tbsp reserved soaking liquid.

Process on medium-high speed until it becomes a smooth sauce. Add more soaking liquid if it's too thick to process.

Add flour and process on low speed until well combined. If it's too thick, add more reserved soaking liquid. This may require quite a bit depending on how dry the fried lentils were.

Transfer mixture, which should be about the consistency of porridge, to a pastry bag fitted with a wide, flat tip. A ribbed tip makes a nice texture. (I used a #48, but a wider one would have been better.)

Pipe squiggled ribbons about 1 inch long onto parchment lined baking pans. Sprinkle lightly with salt.

Bake at 350 °F for 15 minutes or until just starting to brown.

At this point, the crackers will be soft. Turn off oven and allow to remain for 30 minutes with the door closed or until crisp. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely. Store in airtight container.


These taste a lot like CheezIts. They are a great source of protein from the lentils.

Copyright © 2001 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.


Tahini is a sesame seed paste. It can be substituted with another seed or nut butter.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





FYI Tahini is made from sesame seeds. Please remove the free from sesame seeds allergen

Return to top