Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)
Comments | Free Of
Gluten-Free Pizza Crust
Rate Gluten-Free Pizza Crust
Avg. rating 4 from 10 votes.
Recipe Created By: Kathy Przywara
1 1/2 cups Gluten-Free French Bread Mix (see below)
1 pkg yeast
1 Tbsp dry milk powder or dairy-free substitute
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp calcium ascorbate (optional)
1 heaping Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer, mixed with 3 Tbsp water
1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp vinegar
1/2 cup warm water
Combine dry ingredients, except yeast, in bowl of stand mixer fitted with paddle blade.
Proof yeast using 1/4 cup warm water and 1/2 tsp from dry ingredients. When foamy, add to dry ingredients.
Whisk together egg replacer and water. Add oil and vinegar and whisk again. Add to dry ingredients and blend.
Add remaining water 1 Tbsp at a time until the dough is stiff, but not forming a ball on the beater. Beat on high about 3 minutes. The dough will be sticky. Scrape dough together with oiled bowl scraper.
Lightly oil large baking sheet and dust with brown rice flour. Using well oiled hands, pat out dough into large rectangle. Add more oil as needed. I used an oil sprayer here. The dough should be thin, but be careful to patch any holes. Leave a slightly raised edge to hold the toppings. Let rest about 30 minutes.
Add sauce and toppings gently and bake in preheated 400 °F oven for approximately 20 minutes or until golden brown.
I gently loosen the pizza using a large thin spatula after about 20 minutes and put it directly onto the heated pizza stone for the remainder of the cooking time.
This recipes uses Gluten-Free French Bread Mix
Copyright © 2006 Kathy Przywara. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.
Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions
There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions
Return to top
Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions
Return to top