Recipes & Diet

Safe Eats® Recipes (Allergy-Friendly, Search Free of Your Allergens)

Comments | Free Of

Sweet Potato Scones

Rate Sweet Potato Scones

5 star  Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

Category: Breads
# of Servings: 12
Recipe Created By: Devyani


Your photo should meet the following requirements:

  • It must be in jpg/jpeg format
  • It must be no larger than 800px wide by 600px tall
  • It must be have a file size of less than 1Mb
  • Focus on the food: Use good lighting and take a close - up shot.


1/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup tapioca flour
2 Tbsp oil
1/2 cup cornstarch
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp grated orange zest (optional)
1/2 tsp ginger powder
1/4 tsp ground cardamom (optional)
1/2 cup millet flour (or sorghum or rice)
1 egg (or equivalent egg replacer)
3/4 cup cooked, mashed, sweet potato


Preheat oven to 375 F. Combine sweet potato, sugar, oil, egg (or replacer), orange zest, and vanilla. In another bowl mix together all dry ingredients. Stir dry ingredients into wet mixture until just combined. Divide dough in half.

Working on a lightly floured surface, pat each ball of dough into a 6 inch round. Cut each round into 6 wedges. Transfer wedges onto a greased baking sheet. Brush tops of wedges with maple syrup.

Bake for 20 minutes or until cooked through. Serve warm.



Substitute equal measure of sorghum or rice flour in place of millet flour.

For egg replacer, use 1 Tbsp EnerG Egg Replacer with 2 Tbsp water. This will make it egg free.

Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.

Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

 This recipe is free of:

Return to top





Return to top